SU Wins Landmark President’s Trophy

SU Wins Landmark President’s Trophy

TOWSON, Md. – For the third time in five years, Susquehanna University has won the Landmark Conference President's Trophy.

In total, SU has won the trophy four times since the conference began competition in 2007-08. Susquehanna earned the trophy in 2009-10, 2011-12, 2013-14 and now in 2015-16.

Susquehanna ranked first in the Presidents' Trophy after the winter season and added a baseball championship this spring, bringing its team championship total to two including a women's swimming & diving title in the winter. In addition to the two Landmark Championships, Susquehanna earned eight runner-up finishes.

Overall, Susquehanna qualified for the Landmark playoffs in seven of 12 sports and finished in the top half of the standings in 17 of 20 sports.

Susquehanna finished with an 8.55 average while three-time Presidents' Trophy winner Moravian College earned runner-up honors with a 7.69 average. Elizabethtown College wrapped up the year in third at 7.58 and Catholic was fourth with a 7.52 average.

The President's Trophy was created to recognize the best overall athletics program each academic year. The trophy is awarded based on a formula that rewards institutions for regular season conference standings as well as results in Landmark postseason competition. Bonus points are awarded based on competition in the Landmark playoffs. At the end of each year, a program's total number of points is divided by the number of conference sports each member sponsors.