Football Announces Annual Award Winners

Football Announces Annual Award Winners

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – On Saturday, Dec. 6, the Susquehanna football team held its annual banquet and announced the program's 2014 award winners.

Junior linebacker Jim Barry (Staten Island, N.Y./Brooklyn Poly Prep) was named the Randy Zook '01 Most Valuable Player, as voted upon by his teammates. Barry, a 2014 Centennial Conference All-Second Team player, led the conference with 118 tackles (87 solo). He also tied for the team lead with two sacks while adding one interception, three forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

The Crusader players also named wide receiver Denzell Walker (Baltimore, Md./McDonogh School) and defensive back Cody Miller (Towanda, Pa./Towanda) the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively.

Walker led Susquehanna with 35 catches for 540 yards and six touchdowns. He averaged 60 yards per game and 15.4 yards per reception. Miller, meanwhile, had 65 tackles, a team-best three interceptions, eight passes defended and five pass breakups.

The remaining awards, voted upon by the SU coaching staff, were as follows:

Offensive Look Team: Mike Reyes '17
Defensive Look Team:
Logan Murr '17
Dr. Neil Potter Special Teams Award:
Spencer Hotaling '15
Coach Bob Pitello Offensive Lineman of the Year:
Anthony Shipe '15Chris Vialonga Coaches Award: Ron Vilardi '15