Football Announces Annual Award Winners

Football Announces Annual Award Winners

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – On Sunday, January 31, the Susquehanna football team held its annual banquet and announced the program's 2015 award winners.

The Crusaders finished the season 5-5 overall with a 4-5 mark in Centennial Conference play under first-year head coach Tom Perkovich. It marked a three-win improvement from one year ago. Two of the five wins were rivalry games that saw both the Stagg Hat Trophy and Goal Post Trophy come back to reside at Susquehanna.

Senior linebacker Jim Barry was named the Randy Zook '01 Most Valuable Player, as voted upon by his teammates. Barry, a 2014 and 2015 Centennial Conference All-Second Team player, led the team with 95 tackles (61 solo) and tallied 4.5 tackles for loss (TFL), three pass breakups, three passes defended, two fumble recoveries and one forced fumble. He ended his career with 288 tackles and 9.5 TFL. Barry was also named the team's co-defensive player of the year.

The Crusader players also named sophomore quarterback Nick Crusco offensive player of the year while Barry and senior Tom McLoughlin were named defensive players of the year.

Crusco was named to the Centennial All-Conference team as an honorable mention. He started in all 10 games and threw for a career high 2,177 yards – fifth-best in program history – with 17 touchdown, tied for fifth best. He averaged 217.7 yards per game while also rushing 435 yards and eight more touchdowns. He totaled 2,612 offensive yards for third in the conference.

McLoughlin ended the season with 61 tackles (47 solo), 6.5 TFL, four sacks, three interceptions, six pass breakups, nine passes defended, two fumble recoveries and one blocked kick.

Diamente Holloway '18 was named SU's Offensive Rookie of the Year and led Susquehanna in reception (59) and receiving yards (872) and totaled five touch downs. He also averaged a league leading 87.2 yards per game and 14.8 yards per reception. Holloway was the Centennial Conference Rookie of the Year, as well, and received All-Conference Honorable Mention.

The remaining awards winners were as follows:

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Ryan Ganard '18
Dr. Neil Potter Special Teams Player of the Year:
Evan Argiriou '17
Bob Pitello Offensive Lineman of the Year:
Ryan Pearce '16
Chris Vialonga Coaches Award:
Pat Cutillo '16 and Tim Lurz '16