Men’s Lacrosse Sweeps Major Awards

Men’s Lacrosse Sweeps Major Awards

TOWSON, Md. – The Susquehanna men's lacrosse team swept all three major Landmark Conference Awards as announced by the conference on Tuesday. Senior Corrie Van Haasteren was named the Player of the Year while freshman goalie Dylan Abplanalp was selected as the Rookie of the Year. Head coach Stewart Moan and his assistants were named the Landmark Conference Coaching Staff of the Year.

Van Haasteren, a long pole midfielder and team captain, caps off a four-year career that includes 68 games, two Landmark Conference titles to date and two NCAA Tournament appearances. He is also now a three-time All-Conference player and is just the second long pole midfielder to earn Player of the Year recognition in the history of the conference (Michael DeGiovanni, Drew, 2008).

This season, Van Haasteren has started 15 of the team's 16 games and has three goals, two assists, 66 ground balls and 32 caused turnovers. His ground balls and caused turnovers are tops on the team and are second among conference players.

Abplanalp, meanwhile, is SU's first Rookie of the Year since 2013 (Conor Moran). Abplanalp has started every single game this season and leads all conference goalies in minutes played (905:27) and wins (12) and is second in saves (157), goals-against average (7.09) and save percentage (.595). His goals-against average is currently sixth-best in SU single season history while his 12 wins to date are a single season program record.

Finally, Moan has earned his second career Landmark Conference Coach of the Year honor, with his previous recognition coming in 2011. This year, Moan and his assistant coaches Kyle Gallagher and Billy Frick have guided SU to 12 victories heading into the Landmark Conference Tournament, tying the program record for most wins in a season.

SU has secured the No. 2 seed in the Landmark Tournament and will host No. 3 seed Catholic on May 4 at 4 p.m.