MacGregor, Van Haasteren Receive Academic Recognition

MacGregor, Van Haasteren Receive Academic Recognition

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Susquehanna men's lacrosse players Kade MacGregor '16 and Corrie Van Haasteren '16 have been named Division III Scholar All-Americans by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA).

Late last month, both were also named All-Americans by the USILA.

This marks the second-straight year the men's lacrosse program has boasted a Scholar All-American as Conor Boyland '15 earned the honor last year.

A Scholar All-American must be nominated by his coach and be a student with senior year academic standing and a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 (4.0 scale). He will have behaved in a manner that has brought credit to himself, his institution and to college lacrosse both on and off the field. He must also be an All-American, a member of a North/South Senior All-Star Team or an outstanding league or conference player.

Van Haasteren was a three-time All-Landmark Conference player and was named the Landmark Player of the Year this season. Van Haasteren started all 16 games this season and led the team with 71 ground balls and 34 caused turnovers. He also added three goals and three assists. Following the season, Van Haasteren was named to the USILA/Nike North-South Senior All-Star Game.

He finished his career 10th all-time in ground balls at SU with 176 while his 68 games played are third all-time.

MacGregor was an All-Landmark Conference First-Team player who started 16 of the 17 games in which he played. He finished with 53 ground balls and 27 caused turnovers while also adding one goal and one assist. MacGregor leaves having played 70 career games – second all-time – while his 205 ground balls are sixth all-time in program history.

He was also named the Landmark Conference Men's Lacrosse Senior Scholar-Athlete in May and was an All-America Honorable Mention in 2015 when he became the program's first-ever junior to earn the honor.

Over this pair's career, Susquehanna won two Landmark titles with two subsequent trips to the NCAA Division III Tournament.

In 1989 the USILA Scholar All-America Program was established to recognize student-athletes from USILA member institutions who have distinguished themselves academically, athletically and as citizens of their communities. The USILA Selection Committee selects an overall team representing Division I, II and III.

To see the complete list of Scholar All-Americans, click here.