Men’s Swimming Defeats Scranton

Men’s Swimming Defeats Scranton

SCRANTON, Pa. – The Susquehanna men's swimming team defeated Landmark Conference opponent Scranton 143-119 Saturday afternoon.

Susquehanna started the day strong as the 200 yard medley relay team of Eric Lawrence, Danny Csakai, Duncan Frazier and James Orzolek won first in the first event of the competition with a time of 1:38.62. In the next event, the 1000 yard freestyle, Ryan Nathan won and set a personal record (PR) of 10:25.38. This time puts him sixth in the SU record book.

In the 200 yard freestyle, David Miller and Bill Crumrine placed first and second with their respective times of 1:47.44 and 1:50.31. Steven McFarland finished fifth with a time of 1:54.33.

Lawrence won the 100 yard backstroke (54.56) while Jack Olson and Harry Hall took fifth (58.62) and sixth (1:01.75) respectively. Csakai came in first in the 100 yard breaststroke with a time of 1:01.24 while Dillon Warr and Nicholas Macdonald-Martell placed fifth (1:07.38) and sixth (1:08.44).

In the 200 yard butterfly, Jourdan Stewart, Ryan Rizzuto and Matthew Lustburg finished second (2:07.16), third (2:08.29) and fourth (2:16.60).

Orzolek won both the 50 yard freestyle (22.17) and the 100 yard freestyle (49.55). Connor Mitchell and Frazier finished fifth and sixth in the 50 yard free with respective times of 23.13 and 23.19. Crumrine took third in the 100 yard free with a time 50.05.

With a time of 2:02.04, Lawrence came in first in the 200 yard backstroke while Olson and Nathan finished fourth (2:10.23) and fifth (2:10.83). Csakai won the 200 yard breaststroke with a time of 2:19.49, almost three seconds ahead of the second place finisher while Matthew Giroux finished fifth (2:32.19) and Macdonald-Martell finished sixth (2:35.44).

Miller, Crumrine and McFarland took first, second and third in the 500 yard freestyle with their respective times of 5:05.16, 5:06.09 and 5:07.20.

In the 100 yard butterfly, Stewart placed second (54.75) while Rizzuto set a PR and placed third (56.72) and Frazier finished fifth (58.83). Lawrence won the 200 yard IM (2:00.70) while Warr (2:13.31) and Prater (2:16.09) finished fourth and fifth.

The Crusaders return to action on Friday, Feb. 12 for the first day of the Landmark Conference Championships.