Swimming & Diving Moves in to Second Place at Championships

Swimming & Diving Moves in to Second Place at Championships

GERMANTOWN, Md. – The Susquehanna men's swimming & diving team has moved into second place after day two of the Landmark Conference Championships.

The returning champions, USMMA, holds onto first with 652 points while SU is in second with 422. Catholic is in third with 419 points while Marywood is fourth (277 points), Goucher is fifth (245), Elizabethtown is sixth (156) and Drew is seventh (103).

The first event of the night, the 200 yard medley relay, saw the team of Eric Lawrence, Danny Csakai, Duncan Frazier and James Orzolek earning 34 points with their second place time of 1:34.63.

Lawrence picked up second place in the 400 yard IM with his personal record (PR) time of 4:07.68. Matthew Lustburg (4:27.28, a PR) and Henry Chang (4:31.85) picked up points as well with their 12th and 13th place finishes.

Frazier placed third in the 100 yard butterfly with a PR of 52.62 which places him third in program history while Ryan Rizzuto set a PR with his 10th place time of 54.11.

David Miller won the 200 yard freestyle while setting a PR – as well as a school-record – with a time of 1:43.55 while Bill Crumrine earned 14 points with his fifth place finish (1:46.75) and Ryan Nathan set a PR with his 13th place finish (1:49.77).

In the 100 yard breaststroke Csakai finished third with a time of 57.51 – a PR and NCAA B-Cut. Dillon Warr finished ninth with a time of 1:03.25 while Nicholas Macdonald-Martell swam a PR for 16th place (1:05.60).

Jack Olson and Orzolek set PR's in the 100 yard backstroke when they finished fourth (54.07) and fifth (54.27) respectively; their times are good for sixth and seventh in the SU record book. Connor Mitchell also swam a PR (57.50) for 12th place.

In the last event of the evening the 800 yard freestyle relay team of Jourdan Stewart, Crumrine, Lawrence and Miller earned 32 points with their third place finish (7:01.42).

The third and final day of the championships gets underway at 10 a.m. on Sunday.