A Sweep for SU Cross Country

A Sweep for SU Cross Country

Men's Results

Women's Results

TOWSON, Md. - The Susquehanna men’s and women’s cross country teams remained Landmark Conference Champions as both squads ran their way to first place at the conference championships at Goucher College on Saturday.

The men’s team remains the only team to capture a Landmark title as this is the fourth-consecutive championship for the Crusaders and head coach Marty Owens. The women, meanwhile, placed first following last year's second-place finish. Owens and his assistants were named the Coaching Staff of the Year on both the men’s and women’s sides.

The men blew away the field with 38 points while Juniata took second with 61 points. The women finished with 51 points, comfortably ahead of second-place Scranton (74).

The men used a true team-effort to grab the title, as the Crusaders’ top finishers were David Haklar (Coopersburg, Pa./Southern Lehigh) in third and Ian Quinlan (Eagle View, Pa./Methacton/Lehigh) in fourth. Haklar ran the 8k course in 27:00.30 while Quinlan’s finished in 27:01.20.

Mike Harahan (Downingtown, Pa./Downingtown West) was the only other top-10 finisher for SU as his time of 27:30.90 placed him eighth overall.

Haklar and Quinlan earned First-Team All-Conference honors while Harahan, senior Robert Steffen (New Castle, Del./Caravel Academy) and freshman Brandon Mash (Collegeville, Pa./Methacton) earned Second-Team honors. Mash was also named the Landmark Rookie of the Year after an 11th-place finish with his time of 27:51.50.

Senior Alycia Woodruff (West Chester, Pa./West Chester East) brought home some individual hardware as her 6k course-record time of 23:04.70 awarded her the individual title. She was joined in the top-10 by Casey Hess (Bloomsburg, Pa./Bloomsburg Area) (23:47.40) and Lauren Smith (Phillipsburg, N.J./Phillipsburg/Hood) (24:21.20).

Woodruff’s performance earned her the title of Runner of the Year by the conference as well as a spot on the All-First Team. Also a First-Team honoree was Hess. While Smith earned Second Team honors.

The NCAA Mideast Region championships will take place on Nov. 13 at Slippery Rock, Pa.