Two Major Conference Awards for SU Volleyball

Two Major Conference Awards for SU Volleyball

TOWSON, Md. – The Susquehanna volleyball team earned a pair of major Landmark Conference awards on Thursday as sophomore libero Sarah Paluck (Nesquehoning, Pa. / Tamaqua Area) was named Specialist of the Year and freshman Erin Byrne (San Diego, Calif. / Scripps Ranch) was selected as the Rookie of the Year, the first ever such selections for SU while in the Landmark.

Paluck, who was named to the First Team, was second in the conference with 681 digs (5.28 per set) and recorded 43 service aces in 38 matches played. For her career, Paluck has 1,237 digs, already fifth-most in SU history.

Byrne, who was also selected to the First Team, recorded the second-most kills in the Landmark with 403 (3.25 kps) to go along with 76 aces, 273 digs and 70 blocks (.56 per set). Byrne’s 403 kills are the ninth-most in single season history at Susquehanna while her 76 service aces are second-most.

These are the first major player awards for Susquehanna since Lindsey Jankiewicz ’11 was named Co-Player of the Year in 2010.

Under 11th-year head coach Kuuipo Tom, the Crusaders made the conference playoffs for the sixth-consecutive season and advanced to the Landmark championship match for the fifth time as SU set the program record for most victories in a season with 29.